Hunting and Fishing
Hunting License Information
A valid hunting license is required for Alabama residents between the ages of 16 and 64. Residents 65 years of age and over are exempt from buying hunting licenses provided the resident has on his/her person a valid driver’s license or proof of permanent Alabama residence and age. Hunting licenses must be renewed annually. Residents of Alabama may also apply for and buy a lifetime hunting license, which requires no renewal. More information can be obtained by contacting the Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources.
- A hunting license may be obtained at the Calhoun County License Commissioner’s offices in each location of the three locations or at many outdoor sports equipment retailers. You will be required to present a valid Alabama driver’s license.
- To obtain a copy of the Alabama Game and Fish regulations, you may write or call
Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources
64 North Union Street
Montgomery, AL 36130-1456
Successfully completing an approved hunter education course is mandatory for all hunting license buyers born on or after August 1, 1977, except APOST certified law enforcement employed in the state, active duty U.S. military personnel and Alabama residents who are active members of the U.S. National Guard.
Alabama is one of 49 states which has a mandatory hunter education program. The Alabama Hunter Education course is a minimum of 10 hours of instruction in addition to an examination. Course content includes hunter responsibility, wildlife laws, wildlife management and identification, firearms safety, archery, muzzle-loading, basic survival and first aid.
Goals of the hunter education program include increasing awareness of the importance of hunter-landowner relations, hunter behavior, reducing accident rates and increased knowledge of basic wildlife management concepts and wildlife laws. This course is available on the internet at www.outdooralabama.com
Non-residents- All non-residents 16 years of age and older must have a license to hunt in the state of Alabama. Non-residents can also obtain an all game or small game hunting trip license good for three (3) or ten (10) consecutive days. More information for non-residents can be found on line at www.outdooralabama.com or by emailing our office at email@example.com
**Residency is determined by Driver’s License State of Issuance.
**To qualify for a resident hunting or fishing license, a person must be a bona-fide resident of Alabama for a minimum of 90 days.
Non-Resident Military personnel applying for hunting and fishing license stationed in Alabama must go to the Probate Office or License Commissioner and must present each of the following:
Copy of orders assigning them to Alabama for 30 days or more, a valid U.S. driver’s license, and a military ID card.
Non-Resident College Students applying for hunting and fishing license must be between 17-23 years of age, reside in Alabama, and be enrolled in an approved AL Higher Education Institute to qualify for resident licenses. A list of documents required is posted on the right of this page.
Fishing License Information
A valid fishing license is required for Alabama residents between the ages of 16 and 64 who fish with rod and reel or artificial bait. This license is also required to fish with hook and line outside your county of legal residence. Residents 65 years or older are exempt from buying fishing licenses provided the resident has on his/her person while fishing a driver’s license or proof of permanent Alabama residence and age. Fishing licenses must be renewed annually. Residents of Alabama may also apply for and buy a lifetime fishing license, which requires no renewal. More information can be obtained at the Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources.
- A fishing license may be obtained by applying at the Calhoun County License Commissioner’s Office in Anniston or Alexandria or many outdoor sporting equipment retailers’ locations.
- Proof of Residency must be established in order to obtain an Alabama residential fishing license. You must present an Alabama driver’s license, but you may also provide at least two of the following:
- Current valid Alabama non-driver ID card
- Certificate of employment, if containing proof of permanent residence.
- Copy of home property tax
- Copy of previous year’s tax return
- Three months utility bills with mailing address
- Health insurance card or form with address
- School registration or student ID card, with proof of residence
- Voter registration card
- Military personnel with out-of-state driver’s license (must have copy of orders of assignment to Alabama or home of record from Alabama)
RESIDENT HUNTING LICENSES
HUNTING ALL GAME
BAIT PRIVILEGE **
GAME CHECK HELP NUMBER
STATE DUCK STAMPS
WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREAS
PHYSICALLY DISABLED (TOTAL) ALL GAME
50% PHYSICALLY DISABLED VETERAN*
100% PHYSICALLY DISABLED VETERAN*
NIGHT-TIME FERAL SWINE AND COYOTE
**Bait privilege license is required for ALL hunters regardless of age or affiliation with the property owner.
RESIDENT FISHING LICENSES
SALTWATER 7 DAY TRIP
TOTALLY DISABLED FRESHWATER ANNUAL
VETERAN 20% DISABLED FRESHWATER
GULF REEF FISH ENDORSEMENT*
*Required to possess, take or attempt to take any gulf reef fish listed in Rule 220-3-.46 NO EXEMPTIONS
Documents required for Disabled Hunting or Fishing License:
- Dated within the past year, current SSA letter stating ‘SSI’, ‘SSDI’ or ‘currently receiving disability benefits’ that is issued by SSA. OR US Office of Personnel, US Railroad Retirement that state 100% Disabled
- Copy of valid Alabama ID or Driver License
To print the Disabled Fishing / Hunting License Packet, please visit Outdoor Alabama.
Non-Resident Students may also purchase Hunting and Fishing Licenses at the resident privilege rate by meeting the following requirements:
Must be age 17-23
Must be a full-time student
Must be enrolled in an approved AL Higher Education Institute
Must reside in Alabama
Must provide Hunter Education Certification
In addition, the student must provide the following:
The application provided by Department of Conservation certifying the applicant is a full-time student
A lease agreement for the student, if the student lives off campus
Copy of driver license
Copy of student ID