On March 12, 2019, Act 2019-2 was signed into law by Governor Kay Ivey. This act amends Section 40-12-242, Code of Alabama, 1975, to include an additional registration fee of $200 for each battery electric vehicle and $100 for each plug-in hybrid electric vehicle operated on the public highways of Alabama.  This law became effective January 1, 2020.

The Uniform Motor Vehicle Valuation Manual now includes fuel types for all vehicles listed in its database.  Registration clerks need to determine what fuel type the vehicle is driven by.  Clerks will now ask the customer, if the fuel type is not evident on the registration paperwork.  Registrants will need to be ready to provide this information at the time of renewal.

Any questions regarding the new law may be directed to the Motor Vehicle Division at Alabama Department of Revenue at 334-242-9000.